Various Artists

Various Artists "Metal Massacre 14" CD

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price

01. The Traveller (Metalian)
02. Until Then...Until the End (Noctum)
03. Bell of Tarantia (Gatekeeper)
04. The Demented Force (Assassin's Blade)
05. Denim Attack (Cobra)
06. The Siege of Jerusalem (Stone Dagger)
07. Will of the Ancient Call (Crypt Sermon)
08. The Ripper in Black (Savage Master)
09. No Tomorrow (Outcast)
10. Brothers (Corsair)

In 1982, Metal Blade Records put out its first release: Metal Massacre, a compilation album that included Metallica, Ratt, and many other influential artists. Now, Metal Blade will be releasing Metal Massacre 14 and continuing the legacy of the first album.

Primordial's Alan Averill - who compiled the Metal Massacre XIV track-listing - comments: "'Metal Massacre' is an institution that has been dormant for far too long. It served as a vital first step for many bands who are far too numerous to mention back in the early 80s. For fans, it was often the first time engaging with many of these acts, some of whom went on to become household names-- some of course didn't, but the rough and ready underground character of 'Metal Massacre' is what set it apart from other compilations back in the day.

Those old recordings captured the vitality and energy of the time: all analog hiss, rattling drums, roaring bass and feed-backing solos...No pro tools compression, cut and paste editing or triggered drums back then. You set the tape rolling and then played for your life. It was in this spirit that I went about compiling a new 'Metal Massacre', with an old school mindset. Not the most modern sounding, but the bands that capture a more DIY underground spirit that resonates with what 'Metal Massacre' once represented. Of course the musical climate is different, and you probably won't be listening to the next Metallica, but what is important is that this spirit does not die and that Metal Blade still supports this underground, underdog ethos.

So I give you 'Metal Massacre'! Back from the dead! Here's to the next one!"

Metal Blade Records item #154472
Code: MM14-2016