Early Graves

Early Graves "Goner" CD

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price

1. Goner
2. Faith is Shit
3. Old Bones
4. Rot
5. May Day
6. Wraiths
7. Trauma
8. Give Up
9. Bastard Tears
10. Harm

San Francisco's Early Graves have completed their follow up to 2008's debut "We: The Guillotine."with their 2010 entry to be titled "Goner." The former album boasted production by Steve Austin (Today Is The Day), an appearance by Eugene Robinson of Oxbow and critical acclaim of such credible publications as Decibel who said "We The Guillotine is a huge fistful of Wolverine Blues/Hollowman EP Entombed, His Hero Is Gone, late 90's Today Is The Day, Converge and a smattering of the angrier thrash of the 80's (namely Exodus Bonded By Blood) knocking a room full of Tragedy fans over like bowling pins."

The question is did they top it? According to Brock "It's a lot leaner and more aggressive than the last album. A lot of influence from punk and death metal which we started to explore on the last album really reared its head here. Daniels says of the album "Doing this record has been absolutely necessary for all of us in the band and personally, it's the proudest I've ever been of anything I've ever done." The result is "a ragged, pissed off amalgamation of heavy self-medication, year long blackouts and all the depression of an a thousand yard stare." Daniels elaborates "The last couple years have been kinda rough and for most of us, you hit times in your life when shit is basically spiraling out of control and you try to reign it in but it just doesn't ever seem to work so you drink it away. Basically you dig yourself further in the hole because you don't know any other way. A lot of the lyrics, while not being a concept record, have a lot of the same themes of loneliness and depression and substance abuse running through each song. I think us as a band getting together and writing these songs and writing these lyrics got out a lot of bad dark shit that has been under the surface for all of us. Like an exorcism of sorts. I hope maybe this record will connect with some people who are goin' through the same kinda shit."

Goner was recorded at Louder Studios (Melvins, WITTR, Saviours) by Tim Green (The Fucking Champs/Nation of Ulysses) in glorious Analogue sound. Brock speaks of the experience "Last time around we flew to Nashville to record with Steve Austin and left a lot of our gear behind. This time around we knew that a sound like ours would be better suited to analogue and we wanted to record locally. It just so happened that Tim lived around here and we love the sound of The Fucking Champs records. Being a guitar player himself Tim has a great ear for guitar sounds and made me and Tyler's parts sound huge. However, we wanted to be as stripped and live as possible so all you hear on the record is drums, bass, two guitar parts and vocals." Good friend and former tour mate Jon Strachan of The Funeral Pyre who happened to be in town during the recording contributed impromptu guest vocals to two songs.

Vocalist Makh Daniels passed away as a result of a van crash while on tour on August 2nd, 2010.

Metal Blade Records item #149232