Arch / Matheos

Arch / Matheos "Winter Ethereal" CD

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price

01. Vermilion Moons
02. Wanderlust
03. Solitary Man
04. Wrath of the Universe
05. Tethered
06. Straight and Narrow
07. Pitch Black Prism
08. Never in Your Hands
09. Kindred Spirits

In progressive metal circles, the names of guitarist Jim Matheos and vocalist John Arch are spoken with due reverence. With the former having been a driving force in Fates Warning for thirty-five years, and the latter the original front-man of that band, they also have a single seminal work under the Arch / Matheos banner, 2011's 'Sympathetic Resonance'. In 2019, they have reunited to follow that record up with 'Winter Ethereal', a more stylistically varied and perhaps deeper collection that explores a lot of sonic territory over the course of nine immersive tracks. "This stems from both of us trying to step out of our comfort zones a bit, sometimes voluntarily, sometimes being pushed," states Matheos. "Having worked together so many times, it would be easy to fall into the same way of doing things, and I think we were both interested in exploring some new areas." Arch concurs and adds: "Each song is notably different from the next, and nothing sounds repetitive. It is not a concept album, but somehow after a full listen from start to finish, there does seem to be continuity between the songs that I can't describe. At over an hour long, I think the fans will agree that it is a full listening experience."

Metal Blade Records Item #156572
Code: ArchMatheos-Winter-2019